News Flash

City News

Posted on: February 23, 2023

Call for Nominations for 2023 Joplin Historic Preservation Awards

The Historic Preservation Commission of the City of Joplin welcomes the public to make nominations for the 2023 Joplin Historic Preservation Awards. Anyone may nominate any individual, entity, or group eligible for one of three awards: The Leslie Simpson Award, The Jeff & Carolina Neal Award, or The Murphysburg Award. Nominations are open now through Friday, March 31, 2023. 

"The Joplin Historic Preservation Awards are an excellent way to highlight the efforts of local individuals and organizations. These awards are not just for renovation or rehabilitation projects; efforts to educate the public and foster a stronger community are also recognized. With more interest than ever in Joplin's historic assets, now is the perfect time to honor those who have helped make this so,” said Bill Fischer, chair of the awards committee. 

“Being a recipient of a Joplin Historic Preservation Award gives our daily work a reason to continue helping our community to become a unique and welcoming place to live, work, and play," said Jeff and Carolina Neal, former award winners and namesake of the Neal Award. 

Established in 2019, the goal of this awards program is to celebrate and recognize the extraordinary efforts of individuals and groups who make significant contributions to historic preservation in Joplin. This awards program is biannual, with nominations being open in the springtime of odd-numbered years (2023, 2025, 2027, etc.). 

Awards Info

The Leslie Simpson Award – Awarded to an individual who has made significant contributions to historic preservation in Joplin by way of preservation administration, education, events, outreach, planning, research, or service. 

The Jeff & Carolina Neal Award – Awarded to people who have made significant developments to historic preservation in Joplin by way of developing and restoring/revitalizing buildings and property within Joplin’s commercial corridors.


The Murphysburg Award – Awarded to groups or organizations who have made significant contributions to historic preservation in Joplin by way of improving our historic neighborhoods through community engagement.

For more information, or to request nomination forms, contact City of Joplin Planner Thomas Walters at 417-623-0820 x1539 or Joplin Historic Preservation Commission Chair Jill Halbach at 417-623-7953 x1041. Nomination forms can also be found on the Joplin Historic Preservation Commission website: