Southwest Missouri Cyber Crimes Task Force


The Southwest Missouri Cyber Crime Task Force is responsible for investigating technology related offenses, involving children as victims, for 22 southwest Missouri counties. These counties include Barry, Barton, Benton, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Ozark, Polk, St. Clair, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Webster, and Wright counties. 


In 2022, the SMCCTF opened 1,113 cases. Included in those reports were 696 Cyber Tips being assigned from the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC). A total of 747 cases were closed in 2022.

During 2022, SMCCTF investigations lead to a total of 2,178 children being identified as victims, with 59 child victims coming from the southwest Missouri area. The SMCCTF executed 260 search warrants and caused 358 investigative subpoenas to be issued last year.  As a result of these investigations, 56 southwest Missouri offenders were arrested. The SMCCTF has numerous cases which continue to be in a holding status, due to a large backlog of cases in both State and Federal court.

Computer forensic examiners conducted examinations on 553 cell phones and 136 computers, which resulted in more than 175 Terabytes of data being analyzed in support of the investigations above.

The Task Force conducted 18 in person internet safety presentations to more than 2,976 Missouri citizens.