News Flash

City News

Posted on: October 8, 2020

Council welcomes members of 2020-21 Youth Council

Interested in working with all ages in our community, the Joplin City Council welcomed eight members to this year’s Joplin Youth Council at its October 5, 2020 meeting. The Youth Council was created last year to increase civic awareness and experience for high school students interested in government and community relations.  

Joplin City Council began this program in 2019 following a National League of Cities presentation highlighting the importance of providing service opportunities to students who exhibited an interest and initiative to assist their community. .

Liaisons for the advisory board include Council Member Anthony Monteleone and former Council Member and Mayor Melodee Colbert Kean. Mayor Ryan Stanley is also active with this group. Members are required to be Joplin residents and enrolled in grades 10 through 12. Terms are for one year and expire in May. Members may reapply at that time to continue serving on the council. 

Members of the 2020-21 Youth Council are: 

Name                                                  School `                                   Elected Office                                    

Jane Min                                             Thomas Jefferson                   Chairperson

Kambrea (Kami) Manning                 Joplin High School                 Vice-Chair & Public Relations Officer

Shrihari (Hari) Nagarajan                   Thomas Jefferson                   Secretary 

John Wheeler                                McAuley Catholic School             Treasurer

Jake Saunders                                     Joplin High School 

Caleb Thomas                                     College Heights

Riley Peterson                                    College Heights

Luke Johnson                                      College Heights


The Youth Council’s services projects are to help increase awareness about mental health issues as related to the recent pandemic and to identify available community resources to assist those in need. Board members will also volunteer at local food pantries and help with collections for these organizations, focusing on hygiene items which are sometimes overlooked by donors. The group is planning to travel to attend a Missouri legislative session in Jefferson City and visit the State Capitol. 

The board meets twice a month during the school year. Whitney Pachlhofer, Executive Assistant to the City Manager, is their staff liaison.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in City News

Map of Cunningham Park  with the walking trail highlighted

Let’s Go For a Walk, Joplin!

Posted on: April 20, 2020