News Flash

City News

Posted on: September 11, 2018

Environmental Task Force awards scholarships to area college students

ETF Scholarship Award Group 2018

The Environmental Task Force of Jasper and Newton Counties has awarded the Bob Nichols Memorial Environmental Scholarship to two local area residents.  The $500 scholarship is granted to students who are current residents of Jasper or Newton Counties and are majoring in a course of study relating to the environment or environmental stewardship.

This year’s scholarships are being awarded to Hannah L. Morrison and Khye J. Hill for their fall semester of 2018.  Ms. Morrison is an Environmental Health and Safety major and Mr. Hill is majoring in Ecology.  Both are currently attending Missouri Southern State University in Joplin.

The scholarship was recently created by the Environmental Task Force of Jasper and Newton Counties to honor Bob Nichols, longtime chairperson of the Environmental Task Force and a fervent supporter of local and national environmental stewardship.  He was a longtime Webb City area resident who donated both time and money to support environmental protection and improvement.

The Environmental Task Force of Jasper and Newton Counties is a committee of local residents and professionals dedicated to maintaining and improving the soil, water and air quality of Jasper and Newton Counties. The Task Force was formed to address the impact of contaminants introduced as the result of area mining and neglect.  It continues to serve as the liaison between the Environmental Protection Agency and local governments for the continued Superfund cleanup activities in the area.  It also works to address other air and water contamination issues in the Jasper and Newton counties area. The Task Force has a 501c-3 not for profit status.  For more information go to  

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email