Joplin Area Transportation Study Organization

JATSO logo_thumb.png
The Joplin Area Transportation Study Organization (JATSO) is the federally designated MPO for the Joplin metropolitan area. An MPO is required to conduct a “continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive” regional transportation planning and project programming process for the MPO’s metropolitan planning area. The JATSO Metropolitan planning area is comprised of many jurisdictions; representatives from municipal, county, and state agencies meet periodically through a policy board that oversees and approves MPO actions.

JATSO meets on the 3rd Thursday of each quarter at 1:30 p.m. in the 5th Floor Study of City Hall in Joplin located at 602 S. Main. For more information, contact Taylor Cunningham at 417-624-0820 ext 511.

Communities Represented in JATSO

  • City of Joplin
    • MAPS
    • Sunshine Lamp Trolley Transit
    • Joplin Regional Airport
  • City of Webb City
  • City of Carl Junction
  • Jasper County
  • Newton County
  • Southwest District of the Missouri Department of Transportation
  • Harry S. Truman Coordinating Council

Important Announcements

Upcoming Policy Board Meeting & TIP Amendment #3
There will be a public meeting of the Joplin Area Transportation Study Organization (JATSO) Policy Board on Thursday, March 23, 2017 at 1:30 P.M. in the Joplin City Hall 5th Floor Study, 602 South Main Street, Joplin, Missouri.  Items that will be discussed include the review and adoption of the third TIP amendment, which includes three new transportation improvement projects. These projects include an I-44 bridge rehabilitation project over Shoal Creek, the Mohaska Trail Project in Joplin, and new sidewalks along North Madison in Webb City.

The TIP contains transportation and transit projects in the Joplin Metropolitan Area that are partially funded by Federal transportation programs over the next four-year period. The public comment period for the TIP amendments and the UPWP begins Tuesday, March 14th and extends to Tuesday, March 21st.  

This public notice, public involvement activities, and time established for public review and comments on the TIP will satisfy the FTA Section 5307 Program of Projects requirements for Metro Area Public Transit System (MAPS). 

You can view TIP Amendment #3 here.
You can view the proposed Mohaska Trail Map here.